When logged in you can access your profile at the right top of the site. There you can edit personal information and adapt the user interface to your liking.
Once you clicked on Change password you have to enter your current password and a new one (twice).
Optional, provide your full name to make it easier for other users to identify you.
Providing an email address is important in case you'll have to reset your password.
If checked your email address is displayed to other users. Site admins and manager can always see your email address.
If checked you will receive newsletters about updates or maintenance downtimes. At the bottom of every newsletter is a unsubscribe link to easily turn it off again.
Select your display language. Changing it in the profile has the same effect as clicking on the language menu at the top.
Selecting a value here will override the default rows that are shown on tables. Please take note that the change may not be immediately visible because browsers tend to remember your last setting.
Show aliases in tables¶
If this is activated aliases of actors and places will be shown in overview table.
The advantage beside visibility is that they can be searched for. Disadvantage may be a more cluttered table and slower performance.
If you choose advanced you will see more information details when viewing entries. E.g. which CIDOC class the entry has, creation/modification date and (if available) which user created/modified the entry.
Max map zoom¶
Adjust how much you can zoom into maps. Most base maps wont show details higher than a zoom level about 20.
In the module settings you can decide which features you want to use. Input elements of unused feature won't be displayed to not clutter the user interface.
All modules are off by default and you have to activate the modules you want to use.
If activated you have the option to use the GeoNames feature at Place insert or update. If deactivated you'll still see if places are linked to GeoNames but you wont see the fields in the place form anymore.
If activated you can see already added overlays on the map and (if group editor or above) can insert new ones. For more details look at Place.
Notes are an additional tool for your workflow, e.g. to add a personal reminder to an entity.
If activated you can add notes to the main entities. There will be a + Note when viewing an entity to add a new one. The notes will be displayed at the entity view and also all notes will be displayed at overview.
Be aware that notes are:
- only visible to your user (for public notes use the description field)
- there is only one note per entity possible
- will get deleted if the entity is deleted (by you or anybody else)